Oops, So Much For a Soccer Career

In my senior year at Christian High School after completing the steps necessary to return after attending Valhalla High School I was playing soccer for my dad. At the beginning of the season before practice when I was cold my dad told me to race somebody. I think he wanted to laugh at my legs jiggle (which happened because of a Pop Warner football injury when I was 12 years old that prevented me from growing to my full height).

I told him I wasn’t warmed up and needed to stretch first and he said it didn’t matter, so I raced somebody and tore my right quadriceps. It hurt, I needed therapy and it screwed up my senior year of soccer. The doctor told me to miss the season and stay off it, so it could heal, but I didn’t want to miss my senior season of soccer. Now there is a deformation in that muscle and it has caused hip inflammation in the opposite hip.

My dad was a walk-on soccer coach without a coaching license, but the 400-student, religious school didn’t care. He had coached me and my teams at Christian Junior High and they liked his resume.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started