Out There

I went houseless in 2012 for several reasons, but my parents and father in particular talked about houselessness when I was young. They were devout Christians and recognized how Jesus and the prophets were homeless people. My dad mentioned it so much that it bothered my mom.

After fighting a legal battle for a year I was working three jobs and paying high rent at The Pacific at Mission Bay and needed to downsize. I lost almost all custody of my daughter and my wife and I finally split, so I wanted to leave the city anyway. I wasn’t going to have enough money to rent an apartment, so I decided to live on the street and attend college full time and work.

I didn’t ask anybody for money or help before I went homeless. I didn’t call friends or visit churches or shelters or anything. I just left town without telling anybody and after staying in a few hotels and seeing New York City and San Francisco I moved to Long Beach and put my belongings in storage.

I visited the gym daily and showered in nearby Lakewood. After attending college for 4.5 semesters I moved to Hawaii to write books across the islands.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started